A driver’s license is what gives you the legal right to drive on Georgia’s roadways. But there are instances where individual acts lead to this privilege suspension. The license can also get revoked or canceled.
The Georgia Department of Drivers Services operates what they call a point system. They appoint it to those who violate traffic laws. The accumulation will lead to the punishments mentioned above.
The question then becomes how many points you can get on your driver’s license before being suspended, revoked, or canceled. This article will provide the answer amid other helpful information from our Georgia car accident attorneys.
How Many Points Are Permissible By Georgia Law on Your Driver’s License?
According to Georgia law provisions, a driver can have up to 15 points on their driver’s license. The number spreads across 24 months. It means that you must have accumulated 15 points within two years for the DDS to suspend your license.
However, there are instances where the DSS might take away your driving privileges before the 24 months elapse. They are:
- Committing a severe driving violation like driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- If you are below 21 and commit an offense that gets you four points on your license
Should a police officer arrest you for driving while impaired in Georgia, they can petition the DSS to suspend your driver’s license. It happens mostly after the officer reads you the implied consent notice and gets no response.
Other factors are if you refuse to take a breath, blood, or urine test, or have more than .08% blood alcohol content. The time you received the point also plays a role. Ordinarily, a point expires two years after the date of issuance. But some might remain at the expiration of others, hence the 15 points within 24 months rule.
What Number of Points Get Allocated for Passing a Moving Vehicle in Georgia?
Georgia’s point system is so strict it deeply frowns against moving violations. The points range between 1 and 6, and the number you get will determine the impact on your driver’s license.
The following are the points for each type of moving violation in Georgia:
- Unlawfully passing a school bus: 6 points
- Driving aggressively: 6 points
- Improper passing on a hill or curve: 4 points
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Speeding: 2-6 points depending on how many miles over the speed limit
- Failure to obey a traffic control device: 3 points
- Failure to obey a police officer: 3 points
- Violation of child safety restraints: 1 point for the first offense, 2 for subsequent offenses
- Possession of an alcoholic beverage container while driving: 2 points
- Failure to adequately secure load leading to an accident: 2 points
- Driving while texting: 1 point
- Violation of wireless telecommunication device usage requirements: 1 point
- Improper use of designated travel lane: 1 point if its a fourth or more significant offense
What Happens When You Exceed the Allowed Points on Your Driver’s License?
As mentioned earlier, you will not be able to drive once the points on your driver’s license exceed 15. Note that driving is not a right but a privilege. The government reserves the discretionary power to take it away if you pose a danger to yourself and others.
The suspension can last for as long as six months. If you appear irredeemable during that time or drive unlicensed, it might get revoked or canceled. Any of the preceding punishments would lead to adverse consequences with your insurance company.
Your insurer will improve your premium by a lot or deny you coverage if they see the number of points on your driver’s license. If you drive a commercial vehicle, accumulating points could result in your employment termination. Neither your insurer nor employer wants to take on a high-risk driver.
How Do You Find Out the Total Points on Your Driver’s License?
To know the number of points on your driver’s license, send a request to the DDS. Ask for a copy of your Driving History Report in person or by mail. You will pay a $6 or $8 fee, depending on the time frame you want the record to cover. If you request a copy online, you can get only a viewable version. It is accessible for 30 days without downloading.
Calvin Smith Law Can Help You!
Getting points on your driver’s license is usually the first sign of a much bigger problem. At Calvin Smith law, we have experience helping erring drivers know the extent of their liability. Contact us today for a free case review.